Blog, Food & Drink, Parenting

6 Ways to Keep Your Kiddos Healthy

We have been hit by the “Cold Machine” at our house. Runny noses. Coughs. Sniffles. Hoarse voices. And tired, crabby, cute, lethargic kiddos. It reminders me why I love the summer – fresh air, playing outside, germs not so contained. What is a momma to do when her littles have school, she has work, and no one feels good? How can this be avoided, as much as possible?

According to schoolfamily.com, there are 6 key things to teach your kids, and to model yourself, that will help to keep those germs at bay. Read HERE to see why and learn more.

  1. Wash hands with soap and water
  2. Use proper hand-washing technique
  3. Use hand sanitizer when soap & water are not available
  4. Cough and sneeze into sleeve
  5. Use tissues only once before tossing
  6. Do not share a water bottle (or any other food or drink) with friends

After I read these suggestions, I thought “well, we already do these things and teach these things?!”. But then I realized that there are many times when my children aren’t with me, and they may forget without my reminding. Hence for me and my family, I am going to talk diligently about the importance of all of these key reminders. I will model it at home, and when we are out and about, and I will remind my family each day the importance of these guidelines. In addition to a healthy diet, and the right amount of sleep – we will tackle this winter and it’s germs head on! Why? Because these cute kiddos mean everything to me and I hate to see them feeling yucky!

IMG_6273 IMG_6274

Standard

Leave a Reply

