Beauty, Blog, Health and Wellness

Coconut Oil as Eye Makeup Remover

I’m on a new kick since discovering the Skin Deep app I talked about in my last post. I am now on a quest to find products with excellent health ratings, and swap out my current products for those free from toxins.

I ran out of eye makeup remover this week, but didn’t have time to go to the store, or research very much. In a pinch I decided to try Coconut Oil to see if it produced the desired results. I am happy to report that my “in a pinch” solution can now be a permanent solution!

The mascara I currently use (yes, it has chemicals in it, but I can only be so good one product at a time) is a lash builder, lash thickener, lash 50x my lengthener. I love mascara. It’s also waterproof, which means that it takes some serious product to remove all the build up.

As a test, I put on at least 20 coats of mascara per eye, and then attempted to wash it off at the end of the night.¬†Coconut oil has truly done the trick. I didn’t think it would, but it did. I applied it on the eyelid and around the eye as I would with the other product and then finished by washing with my normal face wash. The mascara came off just fine. No tugging, rubbing, or extra effort. I love that this option is significantly cheaper than official eye makeup remover, too. Trader Joe’s has a 16oz jar of Organic Virgin Coconut Oil for $5.99. I used to spend triple that amount on my eye makeup remover!

I encourage you to give it a try.

To your health,

A.Lockhart

Standard

Leave a Reply

