Blog, Food & Drink, Recipes, Risk

Somebody had to try it

My breakfasts tend to be of the basic cereal and milk variety. It’s quick, convenient, and requires very little thought. (My go-to is Kellogg’s Special K Protein with Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk.) Earlier this week I ran out of Special K and was challenged to leave my boring breakfast rut.

I almost just grabbed a pre-mixed Starbucks from the fridge and called it a morning. However, I knew that wouldn’t hold me over. Staring at the little glass container of caffeine, contemplating my options, I decided to try something creative. My goal was to create a unique, portable, filling, and breakfast by using that very Starbucks Mocha. A quick flash of inspiration and today I share with you my Breakfast 2.0. The Protein Mocha Energizer. Patent pending, of course.

What you need:

1- whole, firm, Avocado, pitted and cut into chunks

1- 9.5oz bottle of Starbucks Mocha Light Frappuccino

1- level scoop of chocolate protein powder of choice (I borrowed a scoop from my husband’s stash of Isagenix IsaLean Shake Creamy Dutch Chocolate)

1- cup of ice

Directions:

Toss all ingredients into a blender and process until smooth.

The result will yield a creamy, frothy, chocolatey boost of energy and nutrition. All in under 2 minutes time.

Yes! Avocados and coffee! Somebody had to try it.

Clearly I do not subscribe to any particular diet with rules (e.g. Low-carb, no carb, high fat, sugar-free, paleo…). Instead I strive to eat a balanced diet of whole, unprocessed foods. I love health, eating healthy, and am using healthy products more and more. The use of my Starbucks Mocha Light in a “health” recipe may be subject to scrutiny, but I in no way claim to be perfect. Just perfectly human. In the future I’d like to try substituting the Mocha Light for ½ and ½ regular coffee and Almond Milk. I feel this would greatly reduce the sugar quantity. The chocolate protein powder should be plenty of flavoring to give it the Mocha taste. I couldn’t taste the avocado, but appreciated the enhancement it provided in texture. The firmness of the avocado probably contributed to a more neutral taste.

I use the Lose It app from time to time to check my daily balance of protein, fats, and carbs. As the recipe stands, the Lose It app calculated the following nutritional value:

27 grams of Fat (52% and mostly the avocado)

35.8 grams of Carbohydrates (30%)

20.7 grams of Protein (18%)

447 calories

This protein smoothie definitely kept me satisfied for about the next five hours. For the record, and anyone who knows me, this is incredible. I usually eat once every 1.5 to two hours. I am a #grazer and could #eatallday. Whether you run out and use this recipe tomorrow…or not, may you be inspired to try something new with your routine. Mix things up a bit. Throw out the rules as to what should go in a blender together, and enjoy!

What’s the strangest thing you’ve put in your smoothie?

Best,

A.Lockhart

Standard

Leave a Reply

