Blog, Career, Faith, Uncategorized

My day with Glennon Doyle Melton

The truth is, some of you may be surprised that I love Glennon so much. I am traditionally much more of a Conservative Christian than many in her community. But, you want to know why that doesn’t matter? Because I am a Lover of JESUS before I am a lover of made up human words like “conservative” and “progressive” and “liberal”.

Glennon is a preacher of Love. She reminds us that we are all “jacked up”, as she likes to say. We are all such a mess, that how can we even begin to judge? It’ll take us our whole life just to pull our planks out of our own eye (at least for me)! Luckily, Jesus told us he would do that for us. Whoofta! Big load off of my plate! My job is to LOVE in Jesus’ name. To share the amazing gospel! And let that mustard seed of faith do it’s job – i.e. the Holy Spirit bring us salvation which is THE way to Heaven.

g3

You guys, I got to spend some solid time with Glennon. It was THE biggest blessing. She is actually real, raw, and authentic. She cares. Her canary heart is absolutely huge. Her convictions are brave and strong. Through venues like Canvas Health, she is sharing her story. She is actually saving people! People who are in dark dark places, come to the light because of her. They commit to making the next right decision. How can any of us undermine that effort? And she has devoted her life to this!

g4

Right now – we are losing people to the world. They are disappearing from our Christian “Conservative” places. Believe me – I have no interest in changing our message (which is 100% Law AND Gospel), but I DO have interest in changing our METHOD. Life is Hard. Let’s do what Jesus did. Let’s seek out the tax collectors, the prostitutes, the different cultures and races – and let’s Invite Them To Dinner. Let’s talk to them, let’s give them water, and let’s Invite Them In – no questions asked.

Read Matthew 25: 31-46. Here is part of it:

35 For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, 36 I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

37 “Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink?38 When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? 39 When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

40 “The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

I can barely handle this anymore. It’s like my heart is constricted when I consider all of the times I have passed up the opportunity to help those in need – i.e. JESUS. Look at Glennon’s Together Rising. Just take a look at the help she is providing – and inviting us to be a part of it!

g7

Let’s stop being US and THEM. Let’s start being WE. 

Heidi

g5

Standard

Leave a Reply

